PDA

View Full Version : What did I do??? wrong

wyoduster
02-25-2012, 05:19 PM
So can you help me out.. Not all of the ones I just cast but a third were like this..
I'm new so I'm at a loss.. Hope the pics tell the story.:killingpc

Willyp
02-25-2012, 05:21 PM
Mould is cold or lead is cold!!!!!!!

newcastter
02-25-2012, 05:21 PM
Well I'm a little new at this but I am going to guess either pot is too hot or not hot enough, or excessive lube on mold I would also guess a cold mold but even after a few cast that would rule itself out.

turmech
02-25-2012, 05:23 PM
cold or oil in mold

avan47
02-25-2012, 05:23 PM
What Willyp said. Could also be contamination (oil) in the mold. Clean it with alcohol on a Q-tip.

OneSkinnyMass
02-25-2012, 05:27 PM
the more info you can give, the better these kind folk can help, alloy, temp, mould type, how you preheat mould ect

Skinny

Ben
02-25-2012, 05:34 PM
wyoduster

Hope the pics tell the story.

The pics DON'T tell the entire story.

You're holding a lot of the pieces to the puzzle and they are not included in your post above with your photos.

Did you clean the molds ( if so, by what method ) and were you satisfied that the molds were 100% oil free.

Did you pre-heat the molds ?

What was your alloy temperature ?

Are you using a bottom pour system or are you ladle casting ?

02-25-2012, 05:59 PM
What Ben said.

Texantothecore
02-25-2012, 06:03 PM
Since only a third came out with this it would seem that there is a temp problem, either the mold is too cold or the lead is too cold. I have this problem with a roundball mold cut in a multiple bullet block and the volume of the rb is not sufficient to keep the mold hot so I am going to be preheating the mole on a cheapo hot plate.

If you haven't scrubbed the molds, it really pays off. Acetone and a toothbrush works really well.

Boolseye
02-25-2012, 06:12 PM
+1 on a cold mold being the most likely culprit.