PDA

View Full Version : Revolver boolit design

subsonic
02-25-2012, 10:55 AM
Since I started playing with Mountain Mold's website, I started thinking about revolver boolit design.

I DON'T WANT TO ARGUE KEITH VS LBT IN THIS THREAD!

What I want to discuss is the rest of the boolit.

How much driving band should be out of the case and why.
How many lube grooves/driving bands and how thick and deep?
How much lube should it carry?
Where should you put the crimp groove and why?
How many calibers long should it be considering twist and velocity?
And what happens when you add a gas check.

Any takers?

Piedmont
02-25-2012, 01:09 PM
Dan has an articles section on his site. I suggest you read his article on just this subject. Dan did one for me and I specified a .080" front band instead of a .100" and included a bore ride. It worked out perfectly in that particular Ruger and had the band been .100" it would not have chambered when crimped in the crimp groove.

44man
02-25-2012, 01:48 PM
Since I started playing with Mountain Mold's website, I started thinking about revolver boolit design.

I DON'T WANT TO ARGUE KEITH VS LBT IN THIS THREAD!

What I want to discuss is the rest of the boolit.

How much driving band should be out of the case and why.
How many lube grooves/driving bands and how thick and deep?
How much lube should it carry?
Where should you put the crimp groove and why?
How many calibers long should it be considering twist and velocity?
And what happens when you add a gas check.

Any takers?
Ouch, most of my best shooting boolits are accidents.
Are you really going to make me think? I don't think I can answer.
I can with some to start, SOME of the boolit should enter the throat to just center it to the bore but there is no measurement and even a small amount is enough.
Lube grooves? I find 2 to 3 better then one big one even if lube quantity is the same.
Nose length is only for what fits the cylinder with some room to spare.