PDA

View Full Version : Wheel Weight Question

chipshot
02-25-2012, 12:04 AM
Hello to all. I am new to tthe forum and have what may seem like a dumb question. How do you guys remove the steel clip from your wheel weights? Do you cut them with a pair of cutters or just melt the weights and remove the clips from the pot?
Thanks Much
Jim

letsmeltlead2693
02-25-2012, 12:07 AM
Just melt 'em in and skim it off the molten lead.

Wolfer
02-25-2012, 12:08 AM
Just melt them off. Once they get melted I'll stir in a crayon to flux then dip the clips off.

AnnieOakley
02-25-2012, 12:10 AM
You can melt them with the clips on but don't get them too hot. You need to keep your temp below 700 so you don't melt the zinc into the alloy and contaminate it. Zinc weights can be skimmed off. A strong magnet works well to remove steel. Best of luck to you!!!

cbrick
02-25-2012, 12:21 AM
Welcome to CastBoolits chipshot & AnnieOakley,

Yep, just melt'em, the steel clips will float like corks. Annie is correct about keeping the smelt temp at 700 degrees because the zink weights will also float before they melt, skim them off with the cork. I mean steel clips.

Rick

jonas302
They will float in the melted lead

letsmeltlead2693
Magnets won't work for molten lead because the steel will get hot enough to be past the magnet's curie temperature. Curie temperature is the temperature needed for a magnet to lose all of it magnetic properties or be demagnetized. No magnet can still attract metal at lead melting temps.

chipshot
02-25-2012, 12:31 AM
Thanks for all the responses. I have about 2 buckets of weights that were given to me and I am planning on trying to work on them this weekend. I am sure I will have more questions *** I get into this. Thanks again
Jim

alfloyd
02-25-2012, 12:33 AM
I remove steel clips with a magnet all the time from melted lead in my lead pot. Just be sure that the magnet does not have a plastic part on it. Don't ask me how I know. :)

Lafaun

bumpo628