PDA

View Full Version : made some lube

tuckerdog
02-24-2012, 11:03 PM
3 large candles 1 large container petroleum jelly 1 container carnuba car wax.

So far no leading & good accuracy, smell good to, cinnamon candles from oddlots.
Only used in 44mag so far, going to try .22 6mm and 30cal long guns
see what happens.

consistency a little stiffer than alox sticks and not as tackey. All bought at oddlots for under 20$ filled 2qt double boiler enough to last a looong time

Ben
02-24-2012, 11:23 PM
Hey, if it works for you, stay with it.

Ben

Mrbrent
02-25-2012, 12:22 AM
Me too, here is a pic of my first batch of Bens Red from today.

http://gkosin.smugmug.com/Hobbies/Other/i-PcjnMnD/0/L/lube-L.jpg

wyoduster
02-25-2012, 09:33 AM
I was recommended beeswax,crisco and olive oil ... As a Newbie I'm a little confused..

ubetcha
02-25-2012, 09:41 AM
Someone stated at one time not to use a carnuba car wax due to the possibily of an abrasive used in the wax that is intended to remove paint oxidation on the vehicle.

high standard 40
02-25-2012, 10:16 AM
Someone stated at one time not to use a carnuba car wax due to the possibily of an abrasive used in the wax that is intended to remove paint oxidation on the vehicle.

This would be my concern as well. There is also very little actual carnauba in most car wax. I believe more of the total volume is largely solvents with some abrasives.

fatboy
02-25-2012, 10:21 AM
that abrasive is part of the poor mans rebore kit, it makes your trusty 44 a trusty 45 in no time!!!

Longwood
02-25-2012, 11:14 AM
that abrasive is part of the poor mans rebore kit, it makes your trusty 44 a trusty 45 in no time!!!

You got me to wondering.
How many millions of bullets with a small percentage of Carnuba wax in the lube do you think it would it take to ruin a barrell?

mdi
02-25-2012, 12:54 PM