PDA

View Full Version : Question about buckhorns

lovedogs
03-19-2007, 07:20 PM
Something I've been wanting to know for years and now that I have a rifle with buckhorn sights I just have to ask. I've been shooting for 52 yrs. and have never had them on a rifle before. Now my new Marlin has them and I'm curious. With my aging eyes I can't see the notch in the bottom of the rear sight so I may not get much use out of them. I'm probably going to wind up with a set of receiver sights with apertures anyway. But this all prompts the question... what's the idea behind buckhorn sights? They aren't anywhere near anything precise. I can see if you were in a hurry and trying to catch up to a fast-moving deer at short range you might be able to use the buckhorn or the semi-buckhorn rear sight kind of like a big aperture. Can any knowledgable shooter give me some history? Pointers? Advice?

Dale53
03-19-2007, 08:33 PM
Advice - trash them. Townsend Whelan "panned" these 75 years ago and they haven't got one whit better. A good receiver sight (or scope or red dot) are WORLD's better.

Dale53

grumpy one
03-19-2007, 08:50 PM
As I understand it buckhorn sights were supposed to help with versatility. In the brush, or any time you had to take a snap shot, target acquisition was quicker. On the other hand set-piece shots were slightly impaired because the buckhorns reduced the field of view around the target. Hence you should only find them on rifles intended for regular snap-shooting, probably in the woods, possibly in poor light.