PDA

View Full Version : Hard or soft cast in 44 mag / spl?

atr
02-24-2012, 11:24 AM
just beginning to cast and load for a recently purchased Ruger 44 mag.

Never having cast or loaded for this cartridge I am wondering about casting hard or soft....for velocities between 950 and 1500 fps using the 429421 keith type plain based. Powders would be Unique and 2400
any and all thoughts would be appreciated

thanks
atr

MT Gianni
02-24-2012, 11:47 AM
Hard cast should work @ velocities over 2200 fps. I have never pushed a 44 that fast. Soft cast, bhn 12 or ww works best for all others I have used, especially in the 44 special.

Rick R
02-24-2012, 12:08 PM
I'm new to this too, so far I've had the best luck with water quenched wheel weight 429421 boolits and 2400 out of my new 4 5/8" SBH. I tried air cooled with Unique and got poor accuracy and worse leading. My Lyman mold throws .428-.429ish bullets and apparently harder is gooder for that combo. ;)

With the WQ bullets and 2400 my groups are under 2" at 25 yards and cleaning is a breeze.

Next up is try the air cooled again using 2400 and see if it was the soft boolit or the Unique or both causing my problems. I may also send the mold out to be opened up.

HTH, I look forward to learning a bunch more. :D

Lefty SRH
02-24-2012, 12:21 PM
just beginning to cast and load for a recently purchased Ruger 44 mag.

Never having cast or loaded for this cartridge I am wondering about casting hard or soft....for velocities between 950 and 1500 fps using the 429421 keith type plain based. Powders would be Unique and 2400
any and all thoughts would be appreciated

thanks
atr

You should slug your barrel so you know what size your bore is, hopefully .429". Next you should measure the cylinder throats of the gun, hopefully they are .001"-.002" larger than the bore. That makes them .430-.431 ideally.
Try and find a mold that will drop close to your throat size and ideally a little over.