PDA

View Full Version : bent sprue plate i think...

nwilson1024
02-24-2012, 02:13 AM
So im still fairly new to casting and have cast about 2000 45 acp. Most of them being with one of MiHec’s hollow point molds and a few hundred with a lyman SWC. My concern is with my MP mold. Here is what I think happened…

I cracked the sprue plate open (using a wooden hammer handle), opened the mold, pushed the pins out, and turned the mold over. Only casting a few times with the mold I don’t think it’s entirely broken in yet, and the boolts were not falling off the pins easily. So I would use the wooden handle to strike the nut on the mold handles. What I think happened is that I struck the sprue plate with the mold turned over, pulling the sprue plate away from the top of the mold ever so slightly. The symptoms are when I close the sprue plate over the mold I can a little bit of light at the end of the mold (furthest from the sprue pivot end). The boolits from the furthest two cavities are coming out with bases that have little….tales on them from the area between the mould and the sprue plate. This is a new problem which leads me to believe that it is my fault…
any way to straighten the sprue plate back out without doing any more damage to it or the mould?

Take it off and put it in a vice between two straight pieces of metal? Im thinking it might just spring back to the position it is in now…

Putting it in a vice and try to bend it back? Im worried about bending it too much or in the wrong place…

Having it machined flat? The sprue holes will be bigger….

Do I have to buy another one?

Thanks guys!

stubshaft
02-24-2012, 03:17 AM