PDA

View Full Version : What causes this casting flaw?

old_haidouk
02-24-2012, 01:44 AM
Casting with my Master caster and Magma molds today and I had this happen a lot. The only thing I changed from what I normally do was the alloy, trying a new harder mix of two parts isotope and one part lyno, all nice clean lead. This problem has probably been raised before but it's my first time dealing with it.

Deep holes right at the edge of the sprue plate ring:
http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n89/old_haidouk/boots002.jpg

stubshaft
02-24-2012, 02:01 AM
Sprue puddle not large enough allowing voids to form when cooling.

old_haidouk
02-24-2012, 02:07 AM
I tried a longer pour with a bigger puddle and it didn't help.

mpbarry1
02-24-2012, 02:09 AM
Hotter Alloy? maybe it needs to be warmer with the additional Antimony?

Echo
02-24-2012, 02:13 AM
My guess is that your alloy isn't hot enough to get/keep the sprue plate hot enough. This would let the sprue puddle harden before the boolit interior, causing the void when the alloy cools & contracts. Or maybe you are not casting fast enough to get/keep the sprue plate hot enough.
Pure rationalization on my part...

leftiye
02-24-2012, 02:27 AM
Maybe hotter mold to prolong liquid state. Maybe larger sprue hole so passage stays liquid while boolit draws from sprue puddle. Bigger sprue puddle as was said. Maybe different alloy with lower melting point. Got any tin in your alloy? Hotter melt maybe (as was said). Hotter melt usually means hotter mold, but with a mold heater mold can be hotter while melt isn't.

fredj338
02-24-2012, 02:30 AM
I get an occasional hole in the base, just chalk it up to an air bubble. I run pretty much straight ww in my Magma molds, try fluxing the alloy more.

geargnasher
02-24-2012, 04:15 AM
Trapped, super-heated air bubble from filling the cavity too fast, not swirl-pouring, sprue plate too cold, and poor venting from sprue plate possibly too tight or top vent lines in the mould plugged.