PDA

View Full Version : Newbie question on alloy for SASS bp

JerseyJD
02-21-2012, 05:18 PM
I am a complete newbie to casting with my equipment still in the mail. While I will be getting my feet wet with 454 rb for my 1858 Remingtons for main match sass, I have a few questions relating to black powder cartridge casting for the future.

1) I've read from many sources that a soft bullet (maybe 20/1 or at least clip on wheel weights) is recommended for bp cartridge. Is this a leading issue or an accuracy issue? If the latter, does it matter much at SASS main match distances?

2) Why is a soft bullet recommended for bp but any hard cast acceptable for bp subs like 777?

3) I may or may not be allowed to rake up lead after SASS matches. If I do end up with free range lead, and given that the melting point of anitimony is over 1100 degress, would it be alright for my purposes to just skim off the antimony dross on a low heat smelting pot and cast the remainder with its probable low tin content?

Dorado
02-21-2012, 06:12 PM
1) For SASS matches soft lead is preferred because it doesn't ricochet as bad. Soft lead basically expends most if not all of it's energy at the target reducing the risk of injury. Hard cast has a higher chance of bouncing back and hurting someone. I've been hit with ricochets that were large enough to leave bruises and had one scratch my shooting glasses. As far as for bp there shouldn't be much difference.

2) You would be better off asking this question on the SASS forum. You can find it from sassnet.com homepage.

3) Usually, for local matches you can gather lead after the shoot. For large matches at a regional or higher you will not be able to unless you know who is in charge and ask permission first. Good luck on that.