PDA

View Full Version : Boolit hardness & leading

DrCaveman
02-19-2012, 11:21 PM
I am very new to casting but have been spending a lot of time doing it since I received my equipment. I feel like I have a decent handle on certain things, like safety, mold & pot temp, bullet shape, fluxing, and smelting. As typical I have reached a plateau in learning, where certain things do not make sense and conflict with what I seem to experience.

Obviously, I have much more to learn and hope that I can get my questions answered while helping others along a similar path.

So, I shot my first loaded batch of about 150 boolits today. All boolits tested with my Lee hardness tester at a BHN of 15.4 give or take about .3. So I figured initially that the literature should be the gospel, stating a max chamber pressure of 19,000 PSI. The boolit being a Lee TL358-158 SWC, my planned load was 2.8 gr Ramshot Competition. I have shot this under other cast 158s with nice results, never any leading or stuck bullets. I think the pressure is probably 15,500 or so, nominal, well under max.

I do more research, and find a school of thinking which state the minimum chamber pressure required for a cast to fully obturate, and little to no statement of "max" regarding boolit hardness. The formula was: BHN x 1440 = min PSI required for boolit obturation in barrel. For my first boolits, this was nearly 23,000 PSI. Not Magnum, but well beyond 38 +P.

Then I re-read about Elmer Keith and these BHN 11 boolits experiencing MAX 357 loads, 158 gr @ 1500 fps. I think, hmmm he would not have let his barrels get fouled to the point of cleaning every 5-10 shots.

I soon realize that I can make some Lil Gun loads using magnum cases that will be near 23,000 PSI and still be pretty fast Magnum loads. 14.0 gr is what I settle on. I may be off about the pressure but that is moot for the story and question.

Next, I say what the heck I'll try some good ol' 2400. I only went to 13.3 gr for this initial test.