PDA

View Full Version : 45/70 Lube method?

sharpshooter81
02-18-2012, 02:13 PM
Hey I am new to casting and have a lube question. I am going to be casting 459-405-HB for my 45/70....Just wondering what the best technique for lubing this bullet is? I was thinking of making some Bens Red and doing a pan lube, but somebody in another thread said they would tumble lube with alox. Will the 459-405-HB hold the lube well if I tumble lube? It has huge lube grooves and it was my understanding that the best way was to pan lube. Just wondering. Sorry if this has been covered in another thread already, just didnt have time to sit and go thru them all this time :-D.....Thanks for the help!

btroj
02-18-2012, 03:17 PM
What sort of load are you looking to use? Pressure and velocity can make a difference in lube choices too.

I would probably go with the Bens Red and pan lube.

sharpshooter81
02-18-2012, 03:19 PM
nothing too fast, I haven't reloaded for my 45/70 yet....thinking just a medium load....trailboss or something at about 1300 fps maybe....can you tumble lube boolits with huge loob groovz?

btroj
02-18-2012, 03:34 PM
You an rumble line any bullet. Use the search function here to read up on Recluses 45/45/10 formula. Be sure to cool the JPW like he says, it does matter.
That is a great tumble lube and should do well with a Trailboss load. Don't know if Trailboss will get you to 1300 , I prefer it for 1000 to 100 fps. For 1300 you can use Unique or my favorite, around 22 to 24 gr of 2400.

I suppose I should ask what gun too, don't want to oer stress a trapdoor. My loads are all shot in my Marlin 1895.

runfiverun
02-18-2012, 03:38 PM
you can t/l non t/l boolits.
it works the same way as filling the groove mostly.
you are creating a lube gasket thats much thinner it is just everywhere on the boolit.
try some and see if they work for you.
fill the lube grooves on a few and see if that is better for you.

sharpshooter81
02-18-2012, 03:38 PM