PDA

View Full Version : Noob needs some help getting a new old mold casting

jld_in_IA
02-14-2012, 03:47 PM
Hi all,

As I am new to casting, I've been reading everything I can find about the process and trying to educate myself, but still have some questions.

I have an old Lyman 358091 that I picked up inexpensively several years ago. Not really knowing what to look for, I didn't see any signs of abuse - no clear wear marks, the mold blocks fit closely so I can't see light through them, spru plate looks clean and not showing any lead. To tell the truth, I'm not entirely certain if it was ever used.

When I got a new set of Lyman 4c handles for it, I was very surprised to find the mold fits loosely on the handles and that the handle joint was loose with a lot of play in it. Is this right? I could understand some adjustment so you can put the mold halves together, and then tighten down the adjustments, but this is just sloppy to the point that I'm a little concerned about battering the alignment features.

Second, I warmed up the mold for a while on the edge of my pot, then cast about 50 bullets just to see what the size and weight looks like. I find that the size is .358 +0.001 / - 0.000. They are a little out of round as well because the diameter varies about 0.0008 depending on where I take the measurement - some cavities better, some worse.

All this leads me to believe that there is some basic setup and mold prep that needs to be done here. I'm not sure if Beagling or lapping really applies to this mold as it is iron instead of aluminum.

Any help appreciated.

John

AggieEE
02-14-2012, 04:37 PM