PDA

View Full Version : Fluxing?

Lead Freak
02-07-2012, 07:39 PM
Since I've been casting bullets, for the past 30-40 years, I have always fluxed the lead as just about everyone else seems to. My older brother, 64 yrs young, tells me that it's uneccessary to flux the lead since this apparently isn't required when using solder pots while dipping electronic components. He retired from a large automotive wiring harness company and said that the pots were never fluxed. I tried to explain that the lighter metals will naturally rise to the top, and if the pot is skimmed prior to fluxing, you will be removing all but the lead. Comments?

Moonman
02-07-2012, 07:51 PM
You flux the metal by folding the risen metal back towards the bottom to maintain your alloy mix, kinda like folding egg whites back into a batter.

plainsman456
02-07-2012, 11:35 PM
The stuff they use to do the components is of a higher grade that what we normally get our hands on.
They use something like 95/5 without any lead.
It keeps the lead from rusting when the pot os on.

stubshaft
02-08-2012, 12:19 AM
I remember going on a field trip to the local newspaper years ago when they still used linotype (had to be about 45 years ago). We toured the area where they prepped the metal and the person there said that they fluxed the alloy every time they melted it with two raw russett potatoes. For some reason that always stuck in my memory.

The point being that if they fluxed it and used the alloy daily then it was good enough for me.

geargnasher
02-08-2012, 12:30 AM
First, most electrical solder that I'm familiar with for such machines is eutectic 63/37, which doesn't need "fluxing" because it has no impurities in it to begin with.