PDA

View Full Version : Powder selection for HV CB's

KYCaster
02-06-2012, 11:02 PM
I'm fairly new to loading boolits in rifle cartridges. I've had some success in duplicating factory ballistics in 35 Rem, 30-30 and 7.62X39. I've also been pretty well satisfied with reduced loads in most cartridges I've tried.

The problem is.....I've been bitten by the HV bug to the point that it has almost become an obsession.

The two cartridges that I'm concerned with are 308 Win and 222 Rem.

The 308 has a 1:12 twist on a Mauser action and I've managed to get <1 MOA at 2K fps with a 190 gr. bore rider boolit. Jacketed loads in this weight range top out at ~2500 and I'd really like to get good accuracy at 2300-2400.

I've tried by-the-book loads of IMR4895, IMR4064 and Alliant Re15, among others of similar burn rate and most of the starting level loads are in the 3+MOA range and quickly open up from there.

Similar deal with the 222. Its a Savage 340 with 1:14 twist. Best effort so far is with NOE 36 gr FP and Re7 at 10% below the book start load for a 40 gr. jacketed bullet...that's 2800 fps. By the time I reach the start load my groups are 3.5+MOA.

I wonder if I've reached the accuracy limit of the Savage and I have some jacketed loads ready to explore that when I manage to get some range time. Rem 50 gr PSP factory loads did 1.5 MOA, but that was with a very poor scope that has been replaced with one somewhat better.

Anywhooooooooo.....that covers most of what I've done so far......and this quote from Larry Gibson (taken mostly out of context from an unrelated thread) brings us to the point of my post...........

"The key was using a slow burning powder that gave consistent ignition...."