PDA

View Full Version : Need help w/ .358 blr

kreyten
02-06-2012, 10:48 AM
Good Morning,

I am a newbie to the world of cast bullets. I have reloaded for lots of years and want to try my hand with cast boolits.

I am having an issue with the BLR in .358 win. My magazines are giving me fits...
I close the action and insert a magazine with 3 rounds, and when I cycle the lever, I sometimes get a jam 'cuz two cartridges have jumped up from the magazine. Happens with both 50$ factory mags on a semi-routine basis.

I have tried to put 4 rounds into the mags, but as you can imagine, this compounds the problem.

Was wondering if anyone else has had this issue. Can I lightly bend the lips of the magazine inwards a little to provide a litte more grip on the case? Bullet shape makes no difference...happens with spitzers or flatpoints...

If I can get this feeding issue sloved, will then start working up some 245 gr saeco 352's purchased from Montana bullet works. Going to start with 37grs of IMR 4320...looking for about 1800 fps or so.

Any thoughts/suggestions/recommendations would sure be appreciated. I really like my lever gun, but it is not reliable at the moment.

Thanks

kreyten

runfiverun
02-06-2012, 10:23 PM
most feeding issues are found in the mag,and usually in the lips.
i'd carefully try the tweaking they already don't work.

Boerrancher
02-06-2012, 10:38 PM