PDA

View Full Version : Misfire??????

Fly
02-05-2012, 05:50 PM
Guy,s I need some thoughts here.I have been shooting ML for over 30 years.
Last year I bought my first Lyman GPR.I love this gun, but I'm having a problem
that,s about to drive me nuts.

My first shot almost never fires here of late.I have to pull the nipple & drop
a very small amount of powder in that hole, then screw the nipple back in
& it will fire just fine & never have to again.I always pop a few caps threw
her before ever trying to shoot, to dry it out.

To day before ever trying to shoot, I ceaned her with hot soapy water
with the nipple out.I dryed her as well as I could & even poured some
isopropyl alcohol down the barrel with the nipple out & blew in the
muzzle to make sure it all came out.

I even ran a pipe cleaner in the nipple hole were it screws in & tryed
to feed it as far into the barrel area.Popped two caps to dry it out &
same problem.After I put a small amount of powder down the hole
where the nipple screws in it shoots all day, with not a problem.

This rifle is the only one I own that gives me this problem.When I first
got it I don,t remember it doing this.I'm told not to remove the set
scew in the side where they drilled the hole into the barrel.But I
wonder if there might be some **** in there.

Your thoughts please.
Fly:confused:

Boerrancher
02-05-2012, 07:05 PM
When I am cleaning my MLs I pull every thing I can off the barrel. If there is a piece with threads in it that leads to the chamber, it comes out and is cleaned and dried just like, nipples, touch hole liners, etc. I never leave anything together that will come apart. So, with that said, if it were mine I would have pulled the set screw after the first time I shot it. I hope this helps you decide to pull the set screw and find out what is clogging up the works.

Best wishes,

Joe

02-05-2012, 07:32 PM