PDA

View Full Version : New to casting lead -- oversize from Lee ..452

Roamergrg
02-04-2012, 07:27 PM
I'm new to this forums (Greetings!), been on Gunboards for years and was sent here to answer an issue I have:

I am extremely new to casting lead, but I've been reloading for a few years. I picked up a Lee .452 230Gr 2r 6 cavity mold and cranked out a decent number of bullets earlier today that looked pretty decent.

I noticed some lead managed to get on the face of the mold, preventing a tight close, so I gently picked it off and it closed flush again.

Now, I was about to tumble lube them (Liquid Alox), but I grabbed a dial caliper first and I was surprised to say the least. The mold indicates it's a .452 mold, but the smallest bullet I have measured is .455. What has me scratching my head is that I've measured some bullets up into the range of .462, which seems to be so grossly over-sized that I don't think I could shoot them.

What am I doing wrong? My theory is that the lead on the face of the mold was keeping them a few thousands apart from each other, yielding slightly larger bullets.

Is it safe to fire a .455 RN lead bullet down a barrel that's nominally .452 ? I have always bought hard cast lead bullets from Wideners or elsewhere that are .452 and shoot very well.

So, please educate me if you're willing... I'm quite stumped. The .312 and .323 bullets I cast were about +.001 and consistent, it's just the .452 mold that caused me issues. (I blame the mold, but I acknowledge that it's likely operator error)

Also: Do you think that a Sizing die would help get these all uniform? Is it worth the trouble, or should I dump them into the melting Pot and try again ?

geargnasher
02-04-2012, 08:24 PM
First, if they're that out of whack, no sizer will fix it without wiping out the bands, and weight will be all over the place not to mention the ogive will start in different places.