PDA

View Full Version : Wetting patches

high standard 40
01-30-2012, 08:34 AM
I'm new to paper patching and am learning a lot here. I read elsewhere that someone suggested using a clear soda (Sprite - 7UP) as a liquid for wetting patches before wrapping. His logic is that the sugar acts to help with patch adhesion. My first efforts have all been using plain water.

What do you use? Is the soda idea a good one or bad one?

pdawg_shooter
01-30-2012, 09:09 AM
You do NOT want the patch to stick to the bullet. You will have NO accuracy. Pure water works perfect. Applied correctly and allowed to dry and shrink the patch is tight enough to require a knife or some such to peel it off. After drying and clipping the tails I lube mine and run them through a finish die to "iron on" the patch. It becomes a jacket more or less but will still leave the bullet at the muzzle.

geargnasher
01-30-2012, 10:31 AM
I read that too and considered trying it when I first started, but was advised to try pure water first. I liked it so well that I don't use anything else.

Gear

high standard 40
01-30-2012, 10:37 AM
Thanks for the reply. I was aware that you did not want the patch to be glued to the bullet. According to the Sprite user, the sugar only serves to help the paper stay in contact with the bullet in the patching process, making it easier. This was found in an article by Ken Mollohan on the LASC website. He claims good results. I have no clue since I have never tried it, so I thought I'd test the waters here.

One more question. What do you use to lubricate the patched bullet for sizing?

CJR
01-30-2012, 11:05 AM
There are many wrapping techniques used for PP, i.e. dry and wet. If a selected technique works for your rifle, then that's the proper technique to use. I tried them all until I found what worked best for me.