PDA

View Full Version : 45 Colt gas seal

Nobade
03-12-2007, 08:03 AM
I just started playing with a Marlin 1894 in 45 Colt yesterday, and experienced what others have mentioned in the past - the cases don't seal the chamber even with full charge loads of BP and certainly not with any factory smokeless loads. So what's the secret? I'm thinking that anealing the cases will help, I'm going to try that first to see if I can get them soft enough to work. I wonder why the factories feel the need to make them so thick anyway?

RayinNH
03-12-2007, 09:55 PM
Seems like it would make more sense if Marlin just made the chamber the right size...Ray

Bass Ackward
03-13-2007, 06:30 AM
There are four secrets of which you nailed the first. Anneal. But you can only go so soft. You need some spring back to be able to have the case let go of the walls to extract.

The second is to make the brass not have to go as far to fill the chamber by partially full length sizing your brass. If your chamber is at least round, it should not impair operation. The only draw back here is that you need to maintain bullet tension by also doing the third method.

The third is to load / shoot as large a bullet that will chamber. This will keep the brass closer to the chamber wall so it doesn't have to expand as far.

The fourth is to shoot softer lead so obturation can occur at lower pressures and possibly obturate while still inside the case. The sooner it seals, the more pressure you will have to perform the expansion of the brass.

w30wcf
03-13-2007, 05:49 PM
Bass Ackward,

Great advice! [smilie=w: I couldn't have said it better myself. Having shot the .45Colt since 1974, I have found these techniqes to work very well.:-D

w30wcf

berkmberk1
03-13-2007, 10:28 PM