PDA

View Full Version : Getting started list?

tjeffords
01-27-2012, 09:50 PM
ok so im a major noob when it comes to this. Im looking for a list of what all ill need to get to start reloading .357 sig.

I have the brass about 366 of them.
im looking for the equipment I need to get started recommended set up.

I know I need a:
tumbler
press
dies
powder scale

what else?

01-27-2012, 09:56 PM
First! and foremost should be a reloading manual. Read it a couple times, so that you are completely familiar with all the safety aspects, and each step or the entire reloading process.

Better yet, buy at least two or them.

Roundnoser
01-27-2012, 10:42 PM
Good advice from 462. Also, do you have any friends or family who reloads? If so, it would help to have someone take you through the process (the correct way...no shortcuts). Once you do it for yourself on someone elses equipment, you'll learn fast what equipment you'll need.

There are some good reloading "kits" out there to get you started. Lee Anniversary Kit and RCBS Partner Kit to name a couple.

Good luck and be safe!

tjeffords
01-27-2012, 11:02 PM
my father in-law reloads but we work horrible hours so there is never realtor any sit down time. thank you all for all help given and to come.

Recluse
01-27-2012, 11:14 PM
I'm gonna tell you right now, and with over forty years experience to back it up, but you picked the absolute worst round to learn how to reload for a beginner.

The .357 Sig has tremendous pressures, a shoulder'd case, and several quirks about reloading it that if you do not know what you're doing, and have not reloaded before (translation: know the mistakes and pitfalls common to not just beginning reloaders, but all reloaders), it can be downright dangerous.

Common misconception is just like yours: What do I need? A press, tumbler, dies and brass, primers.