PDA

View Full Version : red dot in 500sw?

odfairfaxsub
01-21-2012, 11:05 PM
can i use the 13 gr red dot data in the 500 sw? or is case space to small after i install a 350 gr bullet

stubshaft
01-22-2012, 01:02 AM
You could get it in there but I think Red Dot is a little too fast for a 350 in this cartridge.

nanuk
01-22-2012, 05:43 AM
read up on "The Load" then compare the capacity of the 500S&W.

read about it here by searching the web for "Harris the Load"

IIRC the 500S&W capacity is not less than a 45/70.

My guess is it will work fine. But check first.

kweidner
01-22-2012, 07:09 AM
If I was going to load reduced for a monster such as that Trail Boss is what I would try. JMHO. I have no experience with uber fast powders or that case. I am assuming here 13 would be reduced. Pardon my ignorance if it is full tilt.

Andy_P
01-22-2012, 07:56 AM
I'd work up to 13.0 grs of Red Dot in a strong action (rated up to 50K psi).

In most applications Red Dot is slightly faster than Trail Boss and Titegroup, and published loads are available for both with bullets of 350-370 grs:

Titegroup - 11.0 grs - 23K psi, 18.5 grs - 50K psi
Trail Boss - 12.0 grs - 19K psi

13.0 grs of Red Dot would likely fall in the 35K psi range.

A Quickload analysis would provide another estimate as a sanity check.

warf73
01-22-2012, 01:58 PM
I know the 500S&W is a bigger case than the 480 Ruger, but my plinking load is 9.5grs of Red Dot with a 400gr Lee on top.
With that load it was running 1050fps and was the most accurate at 25 yards.

44man
01-23-2012, 02:20 PM
I really need to ask WHY? I would never buy a .500 S&W for any reason and to download it is worse. It is just too big for anything.
I love the large calibers but never download any. They are made for certain uses but some are just too large and are useless.
The same applies to the .44 mag. Why load pimp loads when the .44 special works better?