PDA

View Full Version : am i doing this wrong?

leadjacket
01-10-2012, 08:50 PM
new member 1st post..i just got into casting boolits recently.i am a auto tech so i have almost unlimited supply of WW from work.i enjoy shooting BP,so i figured im going to give this a try.
i got a Lee mold part#90474 54cal. oversized improved minie on ebay.have been melting down WW in the garage ,learning as i go along.by trial and error and have managed to crank out about 100 boolits that i think are pretty decent,and having a blast the whole time.it really is addictive.
last saturday i took my T/C hawken 54 cal to the range,along with a big handful of my newly cast treasures.much to my dismay they wont fit in the end of the barrel,now im feeling stupid..is this what they mean by oversize and improved?
ive measured the boolits they are .547.i havent had a chance to measure my barrel..ok question time.. is this the wrong mold?im doing everything ive read as far as proper lead temp,alloy and hardness.do i need to size my boolits?
would appreciate any help..sorry for the long winded post

grullaguy
01-10-2012, 08:56 PM
I shoot ball and REALs so I can't help you much.
Try cutting and pasting your question in the muzzle loader forum further down on this page.
I am sure lots of folks on that forum will have an answer for you.

idahoron
01-10-2012, 08:58 PM
Your using the wrong lead. You want to use pure lead for them. The WW's could be used for PRB's with the right patch. Ron

tomme boy
01-10-2012, 08:58 PM
I was always told to use pure lead. The WW may be too hard. Maybe not. You have to let the gun tell you what it wants. As for the mold, I think you have the wrong one.

JeffinNZ
01-10-2012, 09:00 PM
I use 40/1 lead/tin for my .40cal Minies and that works great.

leadjacket
01-10-2012, 09:02 PM
I shoot ball and REALs so I can't help you much.
Try cutting and pasting your question in the muzzle loader forum further down on this page.