PDA

View Full Version : Another sizing question

sgtD
01-09-2012, 05:16 PM
Hello All,

I have lurked on this forum from time to time and finally joined, because I did a search like I usually can on here, but could not find an answer to my question.

I have been reloading for several years with cast, plated, and jacketed projectiles, but just recently started casting my own boolits.

I am just wondering when one needs to size a bullet?? Is there a rule of thumb of say .002 or more than bore or what? My first cast boolits are for .38/.357 mag, from a .358 Lee semi-wadcutter mold using wheel weights. I have cast around 300 so far. They come out at .359.

I have tumble lubed them with LLA and loaded several. They load, shoot, and chamber fine with no leading problem, so should I be sizing these things or not.

I am about to order .452 and .356 molds to start casting for my 45acp and 9mm, so I want to be more informed about this stuff.

Thanks in advance. This site is a great resource for sure.

waksupi
01-09-2012, 05:22 PM
At the time, it sounds like you have it covered like a fat lady on a pot. All you need to do is find your most accurate powder load now.

Welcome aboard!

stubshaft
01-09-2012, 05:32 PM
If it ain't broke don't fix it. Not every boolit needs to be sized the individual gun will tell you what it likes and just go with it.

mdi
01-09-2012, 06:02 PM
"...have tumble lubed them with LLA and loaded several. They load, shoot, and chamber fine with no leading problem, so should I be sizing these things or not."

Are you wanting your bullets to lead the barrel? Is your accuracy too good? There seems to be no problems loading, or chambering, or leading, so why would you do anything to change that?

sgtD
01-09-2012, 06:52 PM
Ok, so unless I have a problem, then I don't need to size. I just wanted to be sure there wasn't something important that I was missing.