PDA

View Full Version : Need input on a shotgun loader

gabe123
01-08-2012, 07:38 AM
I am wanting to buy a Ponsness Warren shotgun loader, specifically the duo matic single stage. I have only seen pictures of them on line, there are none around here to manhandle and get close up views of each station. Does anyone have this loader? I would like your opinion on the machine and the process. I have a 12 ga MEC Sizemaster that has been in service for about 25 years, I am looking to change to the Ponsness Warren because it can be set up for 12ga / 20ga on the same machine at the same time. Just getting into 20 ga and I don't want to buy 2 MECs.
Thanks in advance for the information.

cajun shooter
01-08-2012, 10:57 AM
Gabe123, I will say this about your posting. If you purchase the Ponsness Warren your supply list to purchase any parts or have service is going to be very small.
You may go into some back roads small gun shops and find MEC parts and machines.
I first loaded my very first shotgun shells on a Mec 700 Versamatic.
I have been using the same Mec Sizemaster that you have and it has loaded many a shell for me.
My opinion is that having two Mec's is the way to go.
I'm not talking down the Ponsness Warren by any means as I've read many good things about them. I lack any loading time with one so I can't comment on how good they are.
My answer is based on having a press that is easy to use and service and will last your lifetime with maybe the replacement of such small things as Bottles.

elk hunter
01-08-2012, 09:10 PM
gabe123,

I've been using Ponsness Warren loaders for nearly thirty years , and have two Duo-Matics, a Magno-Matic and an 800 B, If I have a choice I use nothing else. I've loaded on quite a few different brands of shotshell loaders over many years, and then sold or given them away, I'll take a PW every time. Granted the only place you can get parts is from PW, but if your luck with them is anything like mine, you'll never need any.

gabe123