PDA

View Full Version : My new reloading video .44 WCF

Sixgun Symphony
01-06-2012, 01:27 AM
I really need to get a lamp for more light. I also need to get a powder measure for blackpowder to speed things up. I should not need a drop tube for the .44 WCF cartridge, but maybe I can get in 35gr of FFG rather than just 30gr?

Anyway, here is the hyperlink. http://youtu.be/Ba_FMb71NLM

cajun shooter
01-06-2012, 10:48 AM
I would first like to say that your video is not correct in that you start off by saying that black powder measures by volume. That is incorrect and has been passed down by many persons over the years since the advent of the sub type powders such as Pyrodex.
I have been loading and shooting black powder since 1970 and this subject has been discussed many times on several forums including this one.
The original 44-40 was loaded with the bullet that is today the Lyman 427098. It started as the 42798 and the lube grooves were deeper and wider with square shoulders and not the rounded style made today.
If you will take some time to study the subject you will see that the original cases were called balloon head cases and could hold the 40 grains of black powder that the cartridge received it's name from. This is also the same as the 45-70,45-90,45-110 and 32-20 which are just a few.
The modern cases like the Star Line may hold 40 grains by the use of a drop tube and then a .30 vegetable wad followed by about .31 compression with a compression die which is sold by Buffalo Arms or others.
This will allow the seating of bullets in the 200-220 range which is as heavy as want to go with the cartridge.
I'm in no way putting down on your work or your posting just trying to stop a young man from starting out wrong by misinformation.