PDA

View Full Version : Got some lead...now what!

Lonely Raven
01-04-2012, 12:11 AM
Long story short, I've been reloading for about 10 years now, and I happened to stumble into a video on casting inexpensive birdshot shells into slugs for like $40 in tools. Which then had me thinking about casting for pistol calibers and asking around for lead...and I lucked into about 200lbs of mixed wheel weights (seems to have a lot of Zinc), and tonight I picked up 108lbs of "pure" lead that's been sitting in a farmers barn for 50 years.

I've picked up a turkey fryer for cheap, and I have a cast iron dutch oven. I just put in an order for a lead casting thermometer and a Lee Forge (I had some credit at Midway, so that worked out). And I've got safety equipment, plus my reloading equipment I already own.

So, from what I've read, I can cast bullets directly from the alloy that wheel weights are made from. But what do I do with the big sheets of pure lead I got from this farmer?

I'm going to start casting some buckshot since that seems easy enough. But my fiance is asking me to cast for her Kimber .45 and we both have several 9mm pistols. So I'm looking for some reading materials (preferably free/online) to see where I go next.

Thanks in advance!

cbrick
01-04-2012, 12:31 AM
Welcome to Castboolits Lonely Raven,

Here's the book . . .

From Ingot To Target (http://www.lasc.us/Fryxell_Book_textonly2.pdf)

The 45 is a great place to start, the 9mm is a much more difficult cartridge to make cast work. It does work and work very well but it does seem to take a lot more work & experience.

Use your new thermometer when melting your WW and keep the temp at or under 700 degrees. Zinc melts at 764 and you want NO zinc in your alloy.

Use plain old saw dust to flux your melt, it will both reduce (return to the melt) the tin and remove other imputities such as aluminum etc. Yes that is in WW.