PDA

View Full Version : powder grades

Beekeeper
01-01-2012, 01:36 PM
I have seen here and have read in several publications about this shooter using FFFG in this rifle and annother saying no-no use FFG for the same rifle.

My question as a not total newbe but new to BP shooting for score is there a chart that says use this for this caliber and this for a diferent caliber?

I have friends that shoot 1 1/2 swiss and condem me for shooting FFG Goex in the same rifle so sometimes I get confused ( old age does that sometimes).

beekeeper

ss40_70
01-01-2012, 02:01 PM
theres no chart , find what works for you and use it ... theres always more then one way to skin a cat

Lead pot
01-01-2012, 02:26 PM
I have seen a chart in the Black Powder Digest that list granulation's for calibers.
I have used from 1FG to 3FG in all from 40 to 50 caliber and they all have there up and downs as far as accuracy goes.
I even use 2F in the .22 rim fire where one would think dust would be a better choice.

Lp.

Seth Hawkins
01-01-2012, 02:37 PM
Anything from 1Fg to 3Fg is fine for any caliber - provided it's real BP, regardless of brand (Swiss, Goex, KIK, etc.). If you're using any of the subs (Pyrodex, etc.) you'll have to consult their load data for safe loads.

Bullet Caster
01-02-2012, 02:47 AM
I usually use FFg in my flintlock and FFFg in my pistols. If you use 90 grains of FFg in a rifle then you would probably have to cut it back for using FFFg in the same rifle. I know that BP is a volume measurement and not weight. My black powder book on rifle data lists for a .490 round ball in a