PDA

View Full Version : Types of Wheel Weights

Barr
12-30-2011, 04:41 PM
Hello all. I am new to bullet casting but have been reloading for several years and am expanding my horizons a bit. I had a few questions that I could not find the answers to on this site or the site "Cast Bullets for Beginners".

1. How do you identify the types of wheel weights? Could anyone provide a few pictures to illustrate? I have started sorting my weights and the ones with Fe or Zn are somewhat self-explanatory but I am unclear on the rest.

2. What is a fair price for a 5 gallon bucket of wheel weights? I recently bought two pails for $20 each and the buckets felt as if they were in the 130 lb range each as listed on the sticky on this forum.

Thanks.

arjacobson
12-30-2011, 04:54 PM
I use a diagonal cutter and give each one that is not clearly marked a pinch. You will know right away as the lead ones will mark up easily and a zinc will barely get scratched. I had to do this on my last batch. There were a few that looked exactly alike(marked with a 20) A few were lead and a few WERE zinc.. I have had this before in the past also.. When sorting them look for marks that were made when removed. If the marks are deep they are lead. Squeeze a few that are marked zinc and you will know right away next time.:drinks:

Barr
12-30-2011, 05:11 PM
If I am able to bend the weights by hand (no joints such as a segmented weight) can I assume they are a Pb alloy that might be coated?

I will be trying the pliers method this evening.

Suo Gan
12-30-2011, 06:36 PM