PDA

View Full Version : Digital Powder dispensers

Jim Flinchbaugh
12-29-2011, 01:39 AM
I've been considering one of the dispensers for s while now, and would like to hear some opinions from any one who has used more than one brand. I have a RCBS rangemaster scale, but I think it is the older model that will not work with the mew dispenser, bummer.
Anyway, what do you like / dislike about the various offerings?
Thanks

thehouseproduct
12-29-2011, 01:59 AM
I have the Hornady and love it. Great time saver. Best thing for ladder testing ever. Just punch in the number and it gives it to you.

Bullwolf
12-29-2011, 08:05 AM
A friend bought me a RCBS Chargemaster 1500 for my birthday. I had just got around to trying it out the other night.

He said it was one of the most selfish gifts he had ever bought for someone else, because he intended to get quite a bit of use out of the thing when he loads with me at my place.

I had mixed feelings about the dispenser, and I probably would have never gotten one for myself.

That being said, now after using it I found out that I really like it a lot.

I loaded up 120 rounds of 300 Winchester Magnum last night using IMR 4831, which normal meters all over the place for me, and I just end up measuring it out by hand.

I let the Chargemaster go to town on the powder charges, and boy was it pleasant not to have to do it all myself.

As long as you don't bump the trickle dispenser while you are picking up the powder pan, it's pretty nice. It meters very consistent powder charges, and it sure beats trying to do them perfectly by hand with a balance beam scale.

I double checked all charges on my old faithful scale, but it was always right where it said - still old habits die hard.