PDA

View Full Version : Bullet design ? for revolvers

rockrat
12-29-2011, 12:18 AM
Has anyone noticed any difference in accuracy, lack of leading, ect (better performance)of tumble lube designs vs. traditional designs, in revolver use?

Kind of like between the lyman 429421 design vs a tumble lube design

stubshaft
12-29-2011, 12:29 AM
Nope, I generally migrate towards traditional designs but have put my fair share of TL boolits through my barrels.

Bret4207
12-29-2011, 08:41 AM
My experience with TL designs is very limited, but so far they were not as good as traditional.

Keyston44
12-29-2011, 09:47 AM
I've been shooting commercial cast boolits for 25 years. Two years ago I started casting my own. Because of cost and not knowing if I would like casting, I bought a couple Lee TL molds. I like them so much that I bought a couple more. I have 6 now and a couple Ranch Dog molds. I don't see any accuracy difference in my handguns from the commercial cast I was shooting before. I eliminated my leading problems with casting my own. I'm sure that's because they fit my guns better.
I can't give you an opinion of any other manufactures mold because I haven't tried any.
So with my limited experience I say the Lee TL molds work great for what I want.

Key

Guesser
12-29-2011, 10:03 AM
I've been reluctant to try a TL, simply because the conventional designs have worked so well for me. I even TL several of the Lyman/Ideal bullets and had great luck. I TL'ed 358311 and 429421 and used in 38 Special and 44 Special; 452374 worked well in 45 Auto, altho, very messy when TL'ed.

44man
12-29-2011, 11:03 AM
TL boolits shoot OK but I will NOT use LLA on them. They work just fine with a good lube.
I don't like to cuss but LLA is a cuss word in my basement! :bigsmyl2:

MtGun44
12-30-2011, 07:27 PM
What Bret said. Tried them, had poor to fair results on the target, really, really disliked the
sticky crud on the front of the boolits, so just quit using it. A solution in search of a