PDA

View Full Version : Coconut oil bar and beeswax bullet lube

Hang Fire
12-26-2011, 12:11 AM
I did a search and got nada.

Several years ago the wife was going to throw away some coconut oil bars for popcorn, as she said it was getting old.

I took it out to the shop and used some for C&B handgun lube as I noticed it was firm, but not hard and did not run in hot weather. It worked good, so put the remaining bars in a can, set aside and then forgot about it. We are often gone for a couple three months in the summer and here in this part of Arizona it gets hot, like 125 degrees is not uncommon. In the closed garage without the cooler on, it gets “VERY HOT”.

After setting for few years, I stumbled upon the can and the coconut oil bars looked the same as when I put them there, same consistency, they had not melted or separated and it was not rancid.

Like so many others, I started playing around and the formula I arrived at best for me was 70% coconut oil bar and 30% beeswax melted together (others mileage may vary) and it does not separate. It works fine in my old #45 lubrisizer and I now use it for smokeless or black powder.

Not saying this is an end all eureka concoction, just that it is a very simple mix from readily available ingredients. It works for me better than any commercial lubes I have used and it is nice to go into the garage on a hot day and not seeing Alox/NRA formula leaking all over Hades from the lubrisizer.

Note: The Lou-Ana brand coconut oil bar I use also contains small amounts of soybean and cotton seed oils which label says is for stability.

geargnasher
12-26-2011, 12:21 AM
Interesting, thanks for sharing. What did you shoot it in, and how was the accuracy?

Gear

Dannix
12-26-2011, 12:32 AM
Interesting indeed. Subscribed.

sundog
12-26-2011, 12:37 AM
Uh, yeah. That's the same stuff people eat, huh?

geargnasher
12-26-2011, 12:43 AM