PDA

View Full Version : Thinking About an AR. Which One?

Bigscot
12-22-2011, 09:30 PM
I am thinking about getting and AR and have been to a local gun store. They have several and priced reasonably. What would be a good one for varmit and target. They have DPMS, Del-ton, Colt, and S&W.

I am new to AR's but not guns, shooting and reloading and have thought about building one but I may use it for a Christmas present. Any info or opinions welcome.

Bigscot

P.K.
12-23-2011, 01:28 AM
Build to save $$$. If it's not a factor, Ruger.

Lloyd Smale
12-23-2011, 09:16 AM
I wouldnt build my first gun. Its pretty intimidating anymore out there just figureing who sells good parts and what to buy to make a decent gun and the price of ARs has come down alot lately. Ive seen bushmasters at gander mountain (who are usualy high) for 650 bucks. You arent going to build one much cheaper. Id look at something like a stag, rock river arms or bushmaster. I own guns by all three and its basicaly a toss up between them. there all good guns. Id take my time, hound all the gunshops in your area until one of those three were on sale and jump on it.

RKJ
12-23-2011, 12:09 PM
I've got a Bushmaster A2 and it's a pretty nice one. A buddy has a S&W that is (I believe) just a tad nicer but he's also got an Adams Arms (that he won lucky dog) :) and it is super nice. If you wanted an AR for competition, and to show off, one of those would be the ticket. Any of the brands you mentioned are pretty nice and would fit the bill nicely.

Lloyd Smale
12-23-2011, 12:20 PM
Ill add this. If you can find a stag at a comparable price to something else go that route. They have a life time warantee even if your the second owner on everything. Even if you shoot out the barrel they will replace it. Thats why i use a stag with my bump fire stock

x101airborne
12-23-2011, 12:23 PM