PDA

View Full Version : cutting treads and timing

tcbnick
12-16-2011, 04:11 PM
Just a ? only because I like to know how things work not that I really need to know. If your cutting threads on a barrel, for lets say a reciever and its an octagon barrel , the threads have to stop and be tight at the same time that the barrel flat is at the perfect top and level for the sights to work. Or another, say a muzzel brake with side vents, it has to stop at the right spot or you'll get dirt in your face. But how is this done, back in my Drag racing days we would use thin washers under spark plugs to index them but that was a trail and error method, and not what I woul guess that a gunsmith would do, or some in depth math formulla. Not that I will go out and through my barrel in the lathe but I would just like to know.
Thanks Nick

williamwaco
12-16-2011, 04:19 PM
Nick.

That is why a good gunsmith is worth his asking price.

Reload3006
12-16-2011, 04:22 PM
I am a machinist tool n die maker I can think of several ways it can be done. the easiest would be to use a DRO and face off the chamber end to fit the action. then you could shim it (same as facing off the chamber end) or if you have an NC mill you can calculate it out and start your lead in the correct place. But The honest answer is Face it till its right. (at least how I do it)
edited to say shoulder on chamber end. LOL necessary or not I do face to keep the same length so If I take off .020 from the shoulder I take .020 off the end too. Probably not necessary but I do it anyway.

tcbnick
12-16-2011, 04:31 PM
I get it, No we measure once and cut twice till it fits. LOL
But really, a man that knows his trade is worth his weight in gold.Thanks Reloader Now I know
Thaks Nick

Mooseman
12-16-2011, 04:55 PM