PDA

View Full Version : Finding lead

Revolver
12-12-2011, 09:50 PM
I have decided that I should not waste a moment in getting all the lead I can find. I am a computer tech by trade and service many businesses, many of my clients I have had for 10-15 years and I have no reservation about discussing such topics as bullet casting, etc. Throughout my daily travels I have been mentioning that I am looking for lead. In the last 2 weeks here's what happened...

* 800+ lbs (est.) of mixed WW collected (one place charged me $8 for half a bucket, another place I traded a new mouse for six 5 gallon buckets)

* 45.5 lb chunk dropped off to me from a buddy that is a yacht mechanic

* 101.5 lbs of used roof flashing given to me when I went to service a printer

* 5 gallon bucket of WW a customer says is going to drop off to me soon

It seems that once the word got out, now lead is beginning to find me, which I am very thankful for. I know that my family and friends think I'm crazy but I think I almost have an addiction to acquiring lead. It pleases me to go in the garage and observe my horde, what is wrong with that!?

My plan, this winter, is to melt it all down into ingots in my wood burning smelter. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zI2MCsiN3mg) I think I will maintain the pure as pure so my options are not limited for future use (swaging maybe?), I can always mix it later and have plenty of WW to meet my needs today.

I have only had one bad experience in that one auto shop owner thought his 1/4 bucket of almost all zinc was made of gold. My $5 offer got me practically booted out, which bothered me because I always bend over backwards to be polite.

More than a few garages have asked if I'm scrapping metal, when I tell them I'm going to cast my own bullets they loosen up and seem more willing to give it up.

Ole
12-12-2011, 10:13 PM
Congrats on your finds.

It seems to depend ALOT on the areas you hunt for lead as to how much success you have.