PDA

View Full Version : Would there be any market for this? (tumbler idea)

joe i
12-09-2011, 06:28 PM
I'm new here, and am getting started with reloading. I'll soon be casting also. I've been trying to get all the equipment together, and right now I'm stumped on a tumbler. I really like the idea of the SS even though it takes more work, but the really not-cool part for me is the small number of cases that can be done at a time. I have about 1800 9mm cases I've picked up over the years, and it would take me quite a few rounds in a Thumler Model B before I got them all through it.

I'm a self-employed welder/fabricator and have been running this problem through my mind for the last hour or so. After seeing some people's homemade tumbers (some of you are pretty ingenious!), I've come up with an idea of my own which would use standard 5-gallon buckets with no customer-made modifications other than popping the handle off. The drive would be similar to a Thumler drive except that it would work with 5-gallon buckets instead of a purpose-made cylinder.

The bucket could be easily removed from the unit and replaced with another one that was full of another batch of media/cases/water. Switchout would take maybe 15 seconds, if that, and another batch would be going. I don't know if this would be a very big advantage or not, but it is a byproduct of the design.

The customer would basically buy the unit and supply their own 5-gallon bucket, or one could be shipped with it.

I'm curious if you all think there would be a market for something like this, or are there already enough or even too many tumbler designs out there? I'm not sure of cost b/c I haven't priced out the components yet, but it'd be more than a Thumler Model B because all of the drive components would have to be spec'd to handle more weight. And also, since I'm a one-man operation, I don't have the economy of scale that a factory does.

Just wondering.

Mike W1
12-09-2011, 06:44 PM