PDA

View Full Version : Powder Measure

mentalbreakdown
12-07-2011, 01:32 PM
Hello this is my first post here, and have read some already around here. I have been reloading for about 2 yrs now with my lee O-frame press, a digita scale, and a lee scale, my .357 mag, and .38 special rounds with power pistol powder with great success, but I want it to go a little faster. I am a little confused about usig the lee perfect powder measure on the press itself to save me a set, and only have to wiegh a few intead of every single time. Thanks for any advice in advance!

Trey45
12-07-2011, 01:40 PM
Welcome to the forum. I assume you have a reloading manual, or possibly even more than one. Have you read them? Most modern manuals cover the basics pretty well. If you don't already have this one, I'd recommend it to any new reloader.

http://www.midwayusa.com/Product/484416/lee-modern-reloading-2nd-edition-reloading-manual

Basically, once you have your powder measure set, it throws a charge every pull supposedly the same each pull. Every so often you pull a case and weigh it to make sure your settings aren't throwing a different weight than you want. Some powders meter better than others. Flake powders normally meter all over the place, while ball powders normally meter identical one throw to the next.

mentalbreakdown
12-07-2011, 01:43 PM
Yes I have a speer reloading manual I use, plus another one on te bookshelf. I am not confused about how the measure works, just unsure of how to use a lee perfect powder measure on the press, through the expander die.

Trey45
12-07-2011, 01:45 PM
Here's the directions.

http://www.leeprecision.com/cgi-data/instruct/AP1704.pdf

There are adapters available, I bought mine on ebay. We cannot post ebay links here, so here's the item number you need from ebay. 160513461942. That's the one I use, it works exceptionally well.

mentalbreakdown
12-07-2011, 01:49 PM