PDA

View Full Version : My first search and rescue

Ivantherussian03
02-21-2007, 04:22 AM
Wow, I am pretty amazed at the things I have learned. I live in the Arctic; it can be a dangerous place. I was an novice when I came-now I am the real deal.

tonight I got phone call at 730 pm. That is an hour after last light. A co-worker is over due. The people tell me the trail and the destination. The spouse is calling people trying to find some people to go out there.

I suit up, and everyone is gone. So I head out. I am cruising. I navigate past an open hole in the ice, and wonder if there are others. I follow the one fresh snowmachine trac I can find. I stop to pee, and adjust my head gear at 10 miles out. It is cold out but only my face is cold. I navigate around a small canyon in the ice and snow.

I wonder what has happened to this lost person: broke down machine, stuck machine or a flipped machine, and open hole in the ice. My 1st question is why are they out so far alone. Do have they proper gear: a flashlight would be nice. I could have drove right past them.

The I see refective tape, then aperson. The lost person. They are walking back. The verdict is a stuck machine. Snowmachining 101--never drive through drifts of snow on trackless snow, at low speed. I drove 15 miles out and found out I was the first leave. There I thought I pulling up the rear. I found only one snow machine track going up, so I sould not have been surprised.

No big deal I guess- we made it back fine

SharpsShooter
02-21-2007, 07:50 AM
Way to go Sir! You are correct, most do not prepare properly when they travel in dangerous terrain or weather.

SS

waksupi
02-21-2007, 08:42 AM
Good deal, Ivan. One tip though. Never go out on S&R alone, and definitely without telling some one EXACTLY where you will be searching. That way, they don't end up looking for two, instead of one!

PatMarlin
02-21-2007, 10:27 AM
Most likely saved his life. Big deal?... You bet!... :drinks:

redneckdan