PDA

View Full Version : Melted filler

DeanWinchester
11-27-2011, 04:01 PM
When using a fiber filler, is it common to get a melted clump of it? Maybe I didn't have what I thought I had? Used too much? I thought i bought the right stuff. Looked just like the pictures posted here.

In any event, several cases had a melted chunk about the size of a match head inside the neck. The chunk popped right out with a dentist pick, and I always use a plastic bore brush on the inside of the cases between loadings anyway. There was some funk in the bore, but one patch took 99% of it out.

Just curious. I've never used a filler before.
The load shot really well. VERY little leading. Accuracy was great. Recoil and noise were laughable. I have a 22 magnum that makes more fuss than this did.

308 winchester
Hornady match case
CCI primer
12g Unique
100g plain base RN Tumble lubed

Jailer
11-27-2011, 06:23 PM
How much filler are you using?

Larry Gibson
11-27-2011, 07:12 PM
What is the filler you are using?

Larry Gibson

DeanWinchester
11-27-2011, 08:00 PM
How much filler are you using?
About twice the size of my thumb nail.

It didn't do it on all the cases, so I'm thinking it's possible I had too much in the ones that had the melted chunks in it. The next go round, I'm going to use less.

What is the filler you are using?

Larry Gibson

Polyethylene quilt batting.

243winxb
11-27-2011, 08:04 PM
Use Kapok, if you must use a filler.

Jailer
11-27-2011, 08:38 PM
You're using the same filler I am and I've had good results but no melted filler anywhere.

Try weighing your filler. I wouldn't use much more than 1 grain, preferably less, or you could run into trouble.

Use only enough to keep the powder in place, make sure you fluff it well before you put it in and don't pack it at all after you've put it in.

zomby woof
11-27-2011, 10:34 PM
I though unique required no filler?

35remington
11-27-2011, 10:50 PM
Two points:

1) Skip the filler with Unique. It's not that position sensitive