PDA

View Full Version : S&w 29-3

buckeyeken
11-24-2011, 12:41 PM
Thinking about running lead boolist in my 29-3 new to cast but not to reloading any help from you guys would help looks like I need to run them at .431 not into casting yet could anyone point me in the direction of boolits ?

Le Loup Solitaire
11-24-2011, 12:55 PM
Hi and welcome to the forum. I have one of these and have been using a semi wad nose shape (H&G 503), a 250 grain. Anything similar like the RCBS will also work well. Saeco and Lee also have the same general design available. Roundnosed bullets of the same weight class also do well. .430 may be a tad small and I would suggest .431 or .432 to be on the safe side. A full wadcutter is also good for target work, but weights for those are usually much less than the "Keith style" design or the RN's.LLS

williamwaco
11-24-2011, 01:30 PM
I have been loading those since the 1950's. I have always sized .430 and I have never found a cast bullet they will not shoot well.

Use what you have until you see something you really, really want.

If you are really new to casting and have no equipment, start with a two cavity Lee mold. They are so cheap I consider them disposable.

This one works very well for me:

http://www.midwayusa.com/product/194309/lee-2-cavity-bullet-mold-tl430-240-swc-44-special-44-remington-magnum-44-40-wcf-430-diameter-240-grain-tumble-lube-semi-wadcutter

and it will get you started in casting with an absolute minimum of expense.

In case you don't like it...(he, he)

44man
11-24-2011, 01:34 PM
Buy quality boolits from Cast Precision, Beartooth, etc. Don't fool with bulk, bevel base stuff. Use 240 to 265 gr boolits. 250 is ideal.
You should slug the bore and the throats to pick the right diameter boolit. 5 grooves make it difficult but it can be measured. You need a good mike that reads to ten thousandths.
Your fine gun can actually out shoot jacketed if done right.

azrednek
11-24-2011, 03:11 PM