PDA

View Full Version : Lyman Muzzleloader

hawk223
02-19-2007, 08:56 PM
Hi,

I was wondering if anyone knows anything about the Lyman flintlocks? Are they good bad or indifferent. What other makes are there that are affordable and decent quality?

For a 50 cal what size should be cast and do you have to size them? What about lube and patches etc. I assume they can't be grove size otherwise they would be hard to push in.

I have never used a black powder gun before but really think it will be fun. Any information you have to share would be appreciated.

Thanks.

twotoescharlie
02-19-2007, 10:21 PM
I have a lyman GPR left hand flintlock and it works very well. the only thing that I changed was to put a "white lightning" vent liner in it. it is now as fast as a caplock.

TTC

ktw
02-19-2007, 10:38 PM
The Lymans are probably the best bang for the buck with respect to an entry level traditional muzzleoader. Midsouth (http://www.midsouthshooterssupply.com) has significantly better prices on them than most everyone else.

The next step up in price would be a TC Hawken. Marginally better lock.

The biggest "problem" with either one is that the hardcore traditional crowd don't look on either one as a particularly accurate reproduction of a historical rifle. They consider the Lyman Great Plains to be less of a sharp stick in the eye than the TC if that matters to you.

Next steps up in price would be Pedersoli; not better quality than a TC but wider selection of styles to choose from.

Next step up from that would be a semicustom from somene like TVM (http://www.avsia.com/tvm/ , $800-$1000 and a 12 month wait) or building one yourself from a good set of parts ($500-700 plus your time).