PDA

View Full Version : Seating Short Boolits for .308

Coote
11-14-2011, 05:05 AM
I'm fairly new to shooting home-cast lead.

I want to load cast boolits for hunting, and I am interested in quieter loads (slower speeds). I tend to agree with folks who say that a flat nosed boolit is better for hunting than a more pointed projectile.

I've seen references here to the Lee 'soup can' .... and I am assuming that this is the boolit you'd get from a Lee 309-113F mould. It seems that this could be a good boolit for hunting smaller game.

However it seems to be very short, and I understand that having a big jump to the rifling isn't a good thing for a lead boolit.

So before I order a mould, I want to know if you folks think that this projectile is likely to suit a .308

Can this projectile be seated in the case securely AND be protruding enough to kiss the rifling? In general, if a lead projectile has a big jump to the rifling will it significantly affect accuracy or cause any problem?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.... Stephen Coote, New Zealand.

x101airborne
11-14-2011, 10:19 AM
Not only check the nose diamater and length, but I have found that the depth the gas check is seated in the neck matters a whole lot also. Once the gas check gets below the neck, my accuracy has suffered. As far as the 7mm soup can, my son is shooting it out of an H&R single shot and it is hard NOT to have it contact the throat because of its diamater. It is a very good boolit and capable of some really good accuracy. My boy's rifle gets around 1 1/2 inches at 100 yards and it is plenty good to let him practice with his 7mm-08.

Larry Gibson
11-14-2011, 11:36 AM