PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Here, Trying To Get It Right

Drifter
02-16-2007, 03:02 PM
Hello Everyone

This is my first time to post on Cast Boolits but I've been reading this forum for several weeks trying to figure out what equipment to purchase and the correct procedure to do things, and so far so good (I think). I'd also like to thank everyone for all the qreat information that has been posted here.

So far I've purchased a Lee 20# Pot, a Lee .45 cal .452 dia. 200 gr. SWC six cavity mold, a lead thermometer, a Lyman Ingot mold and have ordered a Star Lube/Sizer, boolit lube, Bullshop's bullplate lube and a 10# Lee Pot to feed the 20# pot (I don't like waiting).

I starting stopping by the local tire stores and collecting WW's a few weeks ago and ended up getting 4 five gallon buckets about 70% full (about time to go back again). I smelted these at 600-650 degrees in a large cast iron pot on a two burner LP stove (both of which I already had) and found about 5 or 6 Zink weights floating on top of the melt which I through away. I fluxed the melt with sawdust and ended up with 344 pretty one pound ingots[smilie=w: .