PDA

View Full Version : Winchester 1892 Help

Anaxes
11-08-2011, 01:04 PM
Hi,

This is a rifle I found at a small firearms dealer in Somerset (SW England). The owner was unfortunately in seriously bad health, and he was selling his entire collection via the shop. Modern Winchesters are fairly common here, but these are quite unusual.

It seems to have been produced in 1894, and at some point it has been converted to .44 Magnum. I am told this was fairly common when the cartridge first started to gain popularity? Apparently full-powered magnum loads wouldn't be a good idea, which seems logical given the age.

The issue with it is that despite the bore being in very good shape, it slugs at .431". We don't get a good range of pistol calibre bullets in England due to the pistol ban back in the early 90's. I'm not very good at casting just yet, so in the meantime, my only options in .431" are either 200gn Oregon Trail Laser LFP, or 240gn Oregon Trail Laser LSW. They come in 500rnds per box, and they are expensive.

Hoping to shoot light .44 Spl through it - I assume it would cycle Spl cases resonably? It'll have inert cartridges run through it before anything live is tried. I find AA No.5 does very well for .44 Spl, but we have access to most major American powders, so I could use another type, if that would be preferable?

Here are the visible stamps on the barrel. The manufacturing details are quite worn towards the front of the text. The images are thumbnails, so please click them to enlarge.

http://i316.photobucket.com/albums/mm329/KoriumLG/th_046-2.jpg (http://s316.photobucket.com/albums/mm329/KoriumLG/?action=view&current=046-2.jpg)
http://i316.photobucket.com/albums/mm329/KoriumLG/th_047-2.jpg (http://s316.photobucket.com/albums/mm329/KoriumLG/?action=view&current=047-2.jpg)