PDA

View Full Version : Too hot target load?

dhaid-06
11-07-2011, 09:21 PM
I am new to shotshell reloading, so bear with me. I inherited the equipment from a friend of my Father's that passed away this year. Looking through his old recipe cards, I found a load that I would like to use, but it is about 1.5 gr. of Red Dot higher than the maximum listed on Alliant's website for this particular combination of components. I looked at the website after I already made a box of shells using the guy's recipe. The recipe was for what I would call a target load. My question is, is there a danger is loading a light target load (1 1/8 oz of No. 9s) a little heavier than the Alliant website calls out, if I will be using it in a modern magnum shotgun (Remington 870 Express Magnum). I don't intend to continue with this hot load, just wondering if I should shoot what I already made, or pull them apart.

Thanks for the help.

UNIQUEDOT
11-07-2011, 11:43 PM
What are the components in the load? what type of hull and how old are they? AA's of today are not the same as those of yesterday. Without knowing what components and the charge weight of powder it's not possible to offer advice other than to stick to the published data at least til you are familiar with loading shotshells. I loaded them for close to 20 years before i got brave enough to experiment. A 1.5 grain overcharge is enough to take a scattergun apart if the load was already at maximum pressures. All sorts of things will affect the pressure in a shotshell a considerable amount including crimp depth.

longbow
11-08-2011, 12:37 AM
+1 for what UNIQUEDOT said.

If you can provide the details of all components then someone may be able to advise.

While 1.5 grains over doesn't seem like a lot, it may well be if the load is already at max pressure ~ especially if all other components are not identical to the recipe. Just a change in primer can affect pressure by 3000 PSI or more.

Longbow

dhaid-06
11-08-2011, 07:48 AM