PDA

View Full Version : Seating depth for Lee C358-158-SWC?

jfvacc
11-05-2011, 01:32 AM
Hello everyone. I am fairly new to casting and I have this mold. I intend to cast for both magnums with gas checks and .38s without the checks. One concern I have is the crimp groove location on the mold. According to the .38 and .357 Magnum load data I have, if I use the crimp groove I will be under OAL by a few hundredths. This seems like a lot to me.

Does anyone have experience with this mold? I know I can reduce the powder charge to compensate for the increased pressure...but I am wondering if pressures will be safe with starting loads if I use the crimp groove?

Recluse
11-05-2011, 02:36 AM
I have the Lee TL158SWC mold--it's my number one top shooting boolit out of my entire inventory.

I seat it in .357 at 1.635, and in .38 Special at 1.415 and use a roll crimp on both.

:coffee:

jfvacc
11-05-2011, 03:19 AM
That's the tumble lube mold, yes? I considered that one but wanted the ability to use gas checks for some .357 loadings.

Recluse
11-05-2011, 11:43 AM
That's the tumble lube mold, yes? I considered that one but wanted the ability to use gas checks for some .357 loadings.

Yep. I liked the design of the boolit so I bought the mold in a two-cavity. I've never needed a gas check for anything .357 magnum. I even load that tumble-lube boolit up to some pretty hot velocities and get zero leading.

:coffee:

mdi
11-05-2011, 12:37 PM