PDA

View Full Version : belling a case mouth?

Thompsoncustom
10-28-2011, 07:35 AM
Hello everyone this is my first post and I would just like to say this is a great forum with a lot of information.

I'm very new to reloading and have not fully reloaded any rounds yet but have but getting stuff over time and going in slow steps. Well the other day my Lee 9mm mold came in and I cast some boolits which I think turned out great but I thought I would try to seat one and see how it worked. I use a Lee hand Loader as I don't have a press at this time so I tired to beat the bullet into the case and it worked but I think it pushed the case mouth out a little and cut some of the lead off the bullet. Don't worry the case wasn't primed or have any powder was just trying to get my seating depth. Well I did some more reading and I found that you have to bell the mouth. How would you recommend doing that? with hand tools of course and I just chamfered the case mouth with a pocket knife should a get a chamfer tool instead? I'm in no hurry I know lee loaders are slow just the idea of doing it all by hand sounds nice. Thanks Dan

GREENCOUNTYPETE
10-28-2011, 09:17 AM
there are several ways to do this , the easiest and most repeatable are on a press , a case expanding powder thru die would be a good choice and comes with the 4 die pistol sets from lee , a lee universal flaring die another good choice , other manufacturers make similar solutions

for simple but effective a needle nose pliers placed in the case mouth and the casing rotated flares ok

anything you can place in the case mouth that would give you even flair all the way around without damaging the case , your not trying to expand it much just get the top lip pushed back so that it doesn't shave your lead , some times a heavy champher is enough depending on how big your boolit is

KCSO
10-28-2011, 09:25 AM