PDA

View Full Version : Best Micrometer

Frank
10-24-2011, 03:43 PM
I want a good micrometer that goes to 4 digits, but don't want Chinese junk. Any recommendations?

xr650
10-24-2011, 05:55 PM
Starrett, Brown & Sharpe, Mitutoyo

btroj
10-24-2011, 06:24 PM
I got a Mitutoyo from Amazon for just under 100 bucks. Reads plenty accurate for me.

Catshooter
10-24-2011, 10:44 PM
Frank,

Those are the top three brands with Starrett being the top. eBay is where I buy almost all of my presision tools, saves a ton.

Here's an example: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Starrett-Tools-No-436-Outside-Micrometer-0-1-0001-/190590836257?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2c60195e21

Hope this helps.

Cat

Char-Gar
10-24-2011, 10:45 PM
I have been using Starrett micrometers for 50 years. They are top notch and will last two lifetimes with decent caare.

jcwit
10-24-2011, 11:22 PM
I want a good micrometer that goes to 4 digits, but don't want Chinese junk.

Does this imply that Nikon cameras are junk?

However Starrett are top of the line.

TXGunNut
10-24-2011, 11:35 PM
Nikons made in China now? Bummer.

Frank
10-25-2011, 12:13 AM
catshooter:

Frank,

Those are the top three brands with Starrett being the top. eBay is where I buy almost all of my presision tools, saves a ton.

Here's an example: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Starrett-Too...item2c60195e21

Hope this helps.

Cat

Thanks guys. I'm going to look at Ebay. :coffeecom Good tip!

jimkim
10-25-2011, 12:23 AM
Don't overlook Scherr-Tumico. Here's a pretty good article on mikes.

darthdave22
10-25-2011, 07:18 PM
I got 4 Starrets 1" 2" 3" and 4" on ebay for very cheap. Keep your eyes peeled and be vigilant. Try to buy from little guy not an Ebay store. I paid around 15.00 plus shipping for my one incher. Thats a steal!

Ragnarok
10-25-2011, 08:05 PM
Starret or Central is what I own for mechanics work.