PDA

View Full Version : Homemade BP in CR

Boz330
10-24-2011, 09:42 AM
I have been messing with making my on BP for several months now for deer hunting. I have shot a number of groups with it in cartridge rifles as well as MLs. While this group isn't competition quality it is sure minute of deer quality.
For reference the orange dot is 3" across and there are 17 rounds in the group. I'm not sure where the 2 low shots came from since I never would have called anything that low. The group did rise as the barrel heated up. This group was 3F and I tried some 2F right before this and while it was minute of deer as well it wasn't quite this good. In the past the 2F gave the best groups. There were 2 different primers though between the 2F and 3F, although I wouldn't have thought that would make that big a difference at 100yds.
The boolits are yawing somewhat as they are going through but it doesn't seem to hurt the group much. The twist might be a little fast for this boolit.

Bob

Boz330
10-24-2011, 11:44 AM
Bill, that was shot in a 40-65 C-Sharps highwall.
Some of the previous loads that I have chronoed were running around 1200 give or take a little bit. Recoil and some Swiss loads felt the same and shot into the same group. My Swiss competition loads run around 1275. The clean up took a couple more patches than the Swiss but wasn't all that hateful to deal with.
The big difference is the density of the powder. A case full weighs 51gr and then I'm compressing that .470. A case full of Swiss would run around 75gr, my comp. load is 65gr. I intend to eventually try it at 300yds in a match. It is really fun to play with, and of course it is nice to know I can make my own if need be and expect reasonable results.

Bob

TXGunNut
10-24-2011, 10:53 PM
Looks like you've got it figured out, been at it long?

Boz330
10-25-2011, 07:54 AM
A couple months.

Bob

texasmac
10-26-2011, 12:24 PM
http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f165/RealTexasMac/MakingmyownBlackPowder.jpg