PDA

View Full Version : Lee Auto Disk for BP

RegCom7
10-23-2011, 12:14 AM
I use the Lee Classic cast turret press with the Lee Auto Disk powder measure. And I now use this for reloading .45 Colt with blackpowder. It works really well, and quick! I've read about the tests done with static electricity, that have put my fears to rest with regard to using a plastic powder measure. I've read of others using the Auto Disk, and the Lee perfect powder measure for BP. How many others use the Auto Disk measure for BP?

Skinny 1950
11-09-2011, 10:58 PM
I just got my Lee Deluxe 4 hole turret press (I know I should have got the Classic :mrgreen: ) to reload .45 Colt but it will ony dispense about 23 grains so I ordered the double disk kit to get more powder. I am using a 200 grain flat nosed bullet from a Lee mold.
I am totally new to reloading cartridges but have been shooting cap and ball for a year and a half or so.

RegCom7
11-10-2011, 06:33 PM
One common load for .45 Colt is 8 grains of Unique power, with a 250 grain lead bullet. That doesn't take up much space in the brass case. 23 grains would blow up your gun and kill you. Do you have reloading manuals?

Maven
11-10-2011, 08:14 PM
"How many others use the Auto Disk measure for BP?"

RegCom7, Never thought of using it for BP, but the Lee Perfect powder measure threw more consistent charges than my adjustable volumetric measure, which I use for my muzzle loading rifles.

RegCom7
11-10-2011, 09:12 PM
I've heard of people using the Perfect Powder Measure for blackpowder. I might get one sometime, to use for my .45-70.

Skinny 1950
11-10-2011, 10:21 PM
I am not loading smokeless, I am TRYING to load black powder.
The Lee Auto Disk powder measure that I have has several disks but it uses one at a time and the most it will dispense is 23 grains (weight) Goex FFFG.
To get more powder I need to use two disks at a time which requires buying an adapter to raise the powder hopper so that two disks will stack on top of each other.