PDA

View Full Version : OK more questions

Swamprat1052
02-07-2007, 06:21 PM
I got my Star Sizer in today and it has a .310 die in it. How do I take it out? lol. I have no experience at all with this but have seen a die removal tool with one on ebay. Anybody know where I can get one?

Swamprat

dragonrider
02-07-2007, 08:05 PM
You need a bolt of the same thread as the punch. lower your ram to the top of the die and thread the bolt in the ram from the bottom of the die up through the die, use a washer of sufficient size to grab the bottom the die but not larger than the die. REMOVE THE SCREW HOLDING THE DIE. Then raise the ram pulling the die with it. I don't know the size of the thread in the machine as I never removed the die in mine and I read this procedure somewhere but have never tried it. Hope it works for you.

454PB
02-07-2007, 11:24 PM
You can remove the die without the tool, but it takes a lot of push. Loosen the die set screw (if it has one, the new ones don't). With the handle up and the base punch removed. use a wood dowel to push the die upwards from the bottom. It's tempting to use a hammer, but a strong gradual push is better.

LAH
02-08-2007, 10:33 AM
The old models are harder to push out and came with a tool. The tool makes it easy but as 454 states, you can push them out with a dowel if you push hard enough. Heat will help.

The new models I push out with my finger if the die is a 100 degrees or so.

Swamprat1052
02-08-2007, 11:30 AM
Thanks guys. I ordered the tool and die from Magma. Will probably ask more questions later.

Thanks.
Swamprat

Cayoot
02-08-2007, 11:58 AM
The old models are harder to push out and came with a tool. The tool makes it easy

What did this tool look like? Was it a threaded bolt type item (as described earlier in this thread) that you threaded (up through the bottom of the die) into the punch slot?

I have an older model and don't have a changing tool....I'd really like to make one though!

wills
02-08-2007, 01:29 PM